Upper School

Upper School Distinctions and Year-End Awards

Upper School 2018-19 Awards and Distinctions

Departmental Awards
Visual Arts Award
Dramatic Arts Award
Chorus Award
English Award
Journalism Award
History Award
Math Award
Life Science Award
Physical Science Award
French Award
Spanish Award
Trygve O’Grady ‘20
Jenna Burns ‘19
Sierra Huffman ‘19
Tazreean Ahmed ‘19
 Maggie Wang '20
Stefan Woolley ‘19
Mary Guo ‘19
Maia Kantorowski ‘19
Ally Baldelli ‘19
Juliana Grimm ‘19
Madison Salloum ‘19
Valedictorian Awards
Maia Kantorowski ‘19
Blair Spencer ‘19
Salutatorian Awards
Jenna Burns ‘19
Niasha Kodzai ‘19
Achievement Awards
Bryce Samples ‘19
Haley Sager ‘20
Tea Waldt ‘21
Ana Huesa ‘22
Morehead-Cain Scholarship Nominees
Shamiso Kodzai, Madison Salloum ‘19
Park Scholar Finalist
Alex Dymond ‘19
Park Scholar Nominees
Shamiso Kodzai, Madison Salloum ‘19
Levine Scholar Nominees
Alex Dymond, Ryan Ritter-Diosdado ‘19
Tin Whistles Scholarship Nominees
Hannah Burns, Jenna Burns, Talia Ferrerio ‘19
Kiwanis Junior Builder’s Cup Winner
Jenna Burns ‘19
North Carolina Governor’s School Attendee
Trygve O’Grady ‘20
Phi Beta Kappa Book Award and Scholarship Nominee
Blair Spencer ‘19
Phi Beta Kappa Teacher Recognition Award
Woody Wilder
English Speaking Union Shakespeare Competition – School Winner and Sandhills Branch 1st Place Winner
Jenna Burns ‘19
Rennsselaer Medalist
Bella Miller ‘20
Wellesley College Book Award
Nicole Adam ‘20
Yale Book Award
Niasha Kodzai ‘20
Wendy’s High School Heisman School Winner
Hannah Burns ‘19
Knights of Columbus History Award
 Andrew Lewis, Bella Miller '20
Moore County Young People's Fine Arts Festival 

1st Place Drawing, 3D
1st Place Painting, Drawing Color
2nd Place Printmaking
3rd Place Painting
3rd Place Mixed Medium
3rd Place Printmaking
Honorable Mention Drawing
Honorable Mention Mixed Medium
Judge’s Choice Drawing
Naomi Johnson ‘21
Trygve O’Grady ‘20
Matthew Ryals ‘21
Molly Mansker ‘20
Tshering Blackwell ‘22
Bella Royal ‘19
Molly Mansker ‘20
Bray Woodard '20
Naomi Johnson ‘21
Voice of Democracy 2nd Place Audio Essay
George Casey ‘22
The Bill Youngclaus Literary Award
Trygve O’Grady ‘20 
Model United Nations – American University
Best Delegation
Diplomacy Award
Jamie Wenzel, Tea Waldt ‘21
Stefan Woolley ‘19
Model United Nations – Appalachian State University
Outstanding Delegation
Jamie Wenzel ’21, Andrew Lewis ’20, Tim Richardson ‘21
Model United Nations – University of Virginia
Best Delegate
Jamie Wenzel ‘21
Cum Laude Society Inductees - Class of 2019
Jenna Burns, Mary Guo, Bennett Moore, Madison Salloum
Cum Laude Society Inductees - Class of 2020
Niasha Kodzai, Sarah Massey, Bella Miller
National Honor Society Inductees - Class of 2019
Sierra Huffman
National Honor Society Inductees - Class of 2020
Nicole Adam, Ang Carr, Joe Dailey, Sarah Elmore, Sam Henry, Niasha Kodzai, Andrew Lewis, Molly Mansker, Jackson Martinez, Sarah Massey, Patrick McMurray, Bella Miller, Rachel Patton, Haley Sager, Lily Tanner, Bray Woodard
Tri-TAC Scholastic Athletes of the Year
Sarah McInnis, Bennett Moore ‘19 

Honorary Awards

The Dominique Gray Student Improvement Award is presented by the faculty in recognition of the importance of a positive attitude and a strong upward progression in academics. It is presented to one student in the Upper School who best exemplifies substantial improvement in these areas. This award is named in the honor and memory of our 2005 O’Neal graduate, Dominique Osmond Gray. In 2003 Dominique received this award for his joyful determination and resilience in the pursuit of academic achievement.

Presented to Sydney Lee Howell '20

The Ann M. Ewing Spirit Award is presented every year to a student in grades 9-12 who through his/her efforts and actions best typifies the goals and objectives of The O'Neal School (usually presented to a member of the Junior Class).

Presented to Bella Miller '20

The Franklin Curtis Volunteer Award is voted on by the Upperclassmen and presented by the faculty and awarded to a member of the Junior or Senior Class, who is dedicated to their club(s). This student may volunteer outside of school as well. They are thoroughly involved in their activities and recognized for helping others. No student can receive this award more than once in their high school career.

Presented to Lily Tanner '20

The Falcon Award is selected by the students and approved by faculty to a student for his or her outstanding school spirit. They support and uphold the school and its policies and participate in school activities. Most importantly, this student brings a positive presence to the school. No student can receive this award more than once in their high school career.

Presented to Morin Samples '22

The Bud Holmberg Most Influential Student Award is awarded by the student body and approved by faculty, to the student who is seen as a positive role model, respected by peers and teachers, and a leader both in school and in the community. Most importantly, this student leads by example. No student can receive this more than once in their career.

Presented to Stefan Woolley '19

The Amelia Cagle Underclassman Award was created by the students and is voted by the Underclassmen. The recipient, who must be a freshman or sophomore student, embodies the very highest standards of determination, strength of character, and personal and academic integrity. A quiet leader, this student acts as an inspirational role model for others.

Presented to Molly Kuzma '21

The Edna E. Simmons Award is presented to a member of the Senior Class who has combined high scholastic achievement, athletic accomplishment and loyalty to the school during his or her four Upper School years at O'Neal.

Presented to Bennett Moore '19

The Robert N. Haarlow Award is presented to a Senior who through his or her positive approach, willingness to help others, and involvement in the life of the school has made a significant contribution to The O'Neal School.

Presented to Sarah McInnis '19

The Charles W. Lowry Award is presented to a Senior who has steadfastly maintained exemplary character and achievement in the classroom, in the playing field and in the community.

Presented to Shamiso Kodzai '19

The Board of Trustees' Leadership Award is presented to the student in the Senior Class who best displays the qualities of leadership in academics, athletics, student government, fine arts and other extra-curricular activities.

Presented to Stefan Woolley '19
Serving Pinehurst, Southern Pines, Whispering Pines, Sanford, West End, Aberdeen, and areas surrounding Moore County, NC.

The O’Neal School
3300 Airport Road
Southern Pines, NC 28387

Visit our private school Facebook for preschool, kindergarten, elementary school, middle school, and high school photos.   Google+ offers a glimpse of private school life including preschool, kindergarten, and elementary school.   Follow Twitter to keep up with high school activities including athletic tournaments and sports scores.   Middle school students are prideful of postings on Instagram and become energetically engaged as a result.   Subscribe to YouTube for musical performances, convocations, commencements, and other events at The O'Neal School.